“It’s who you are and the way you live that count before God. Your worship must engage your spirit in the pursuit of truth. That’s the kind of people the Father is out looking for: those who are simply and honestly themselves before him in their worship. God is sheer being itself—Spirit. Those who worship him must do it out of their very being, their spirits, their true selves, in adoration.” John 4:24

I’ve been feeling a little…convicted lately in my worship.

As I’ve been going through some hard places in life, I’ve made it a point to be more thankful and less whiny in my communication with my creator. Haven’t you ever heard that we just need to praise our way to victory? I have, many times. So that’s what I thought I was doing.

But in reality, I was using my “praise” as another form of a “request.” I was thanking God hoping to cajole Him into working on my behalf, instead of just praising Him for being Him.

Lord, forgive me!

So yes, I do need to be more thankful. I need to spend more time in praise and worship as I pray. But my Lord is worthy of my adoration, whether He ever answers another prayer or not. Just like the examples in His word, whether I have plenty or little, am hungry or full, or have the love of all around me or am in a sea of isolation – He is still deserving of my praise!

He doesn’t want me to praise Him out of my wants or needs. He wants me to praise Him because I love and adore Him. We are to “worship His excellent greatness.” We are to “magnify the Lord…exalt His name forever.” We are to give honor where honor is due, and all honor is due Him!

Grateful, yes. Griping, no. But with my whole heart, out of a thankful spirit, and with no expectations of “favors?” That’s the purest form of worship we can offer.

