“For I am waiting for you, O Lord. You must answer for me, O Lord my God.” Psalm 38:15

As I write this, I’m waiting on a call. This one happens to be from my daughter’s doctor about some lab results. I’ve been taking my cell phone with me everywhere for the past couple of days (including the restroom!) so that I don’t miss hearing my phone ring.

Some of you are waiting on calls, too. Maybe it’s an actual, physical call, like from a doctor, or an adoptive placement, or a family member. Or maybe it’s a call from God, in response to a cry from your heart. Either way, I’m betting you are on tenterhooks and your sense of hearing is extra perked-up in anticipation!

As much as we hate to admit it, sometimes our “listener” (as I used to say about my daughter) is broken. Sometimes, we take for granted that we have communication with the Most High God, and we relegate prayer to an afterthought. But sometimes, He allows us to go through situations where we are forced to wait, and listen, and rely on Him for an answer. Sometimes He allows us to be forced to “fine tune” our ears, listening for even the smallest pin-drop of a response.

As desperate as I am for my phone to ring with the call from that doctor, I am even more desperate to hear from my God. I am desperate to listen to His instructions, to His voice, to His call. I am desperate to hear His words of love, peace, and joy, as they wash over my soul and take away my fears and frustrations.

Call Him. Listen for His response. Wait. I promise it will be worth it, and your soul will be richer for the waiting.

