“You’re blessed when you’ve worked up a good appetite for God. He’s food and drink in the best meal you’ll ever eat.” Matthew 5:7

My dogs have two water bowls – one outside, and one in my bathroom. Since they always run straight for the indoor bowl when they come inside, my husband jokes that they must not ever drink anything when they’re outside. (However, the water out there disappears at a pretty alarming rate, so SOMETHING is drinking it!)

One day, one of my dogs went to the bowl while I was folding clothes on my bed. It was empty, so he did what any rational, thirsty creature would. He picked the bowl up in his mouth, and put it down at my side. He was desperate for a drink! He wanted to be sure I noticed his need. He knew he didn’t have the power to fill that bowl, but I did.

Why did Jesus say we were blessed when we got hungry and thirsty for God? Because that’s when we get desperate. When we’re satisfied and satiated, we don’t go looking in the pantry. (Well, I do, but that’s a therapy session for another time.) When we realize our deficit of the Divine, we search. We open doors to Him found in His word and in worship. We don’t rest until we get what we know we so desperately need.

Dry seasons aren’t a curse. They’re a blessing – IF we use them to seek after our heavenly Father. They are a sign that we need more of Him (and we all need more of Him) and we know it. They are a catalyst to a deeper walk with our Creator.

So if you find yourself with an empty water bowl today, don’t just look at it and mope. Bring it to the feet of Jesus, and let Him fill it to overflowing. He wants to! It’s His good pleasure to draw us closer to Himself and satisfy our hunger and thirst. Don’t bemoan your longing – fill it!

