“O my soul, bless God. From head to toe, I’ll bless his holy name! O my soul, bless God, don’t forget a single blessing!” Psalm 103:2

Do you ever receive a gift, and, well, it’s not that you aren’t appreciative of it…

You just…forget about it.

It’s easy to do, especially at Christmas, when there is wrapping paper everywhere and a pile of gifts to be unwrapped. We (especially most Americans) have so much that some things just get…forgotten.

Shoved in a cabinet. Placed in a drawer. Hidden under the bed.

God’s blessings can be forgotten too, unfortunately.

Even when things are going badly – especially when things are going badly – God’s blessings are still there. We still have breath in our lungs, and a future before us. We still have something we can thank Him for, even if we have to search around for it.

Don’t worry – I have to tell myself to look under the bed and in the closet for those blessings some days, too. I hide them away from myself, and forget about them. I have to remind myself to remember.

God’s blessings are numerous and varied. He never changes, and He never forsakes us. Just because we can’t see Him and His goodness, doesn’t mean they aren’t there. Don’t forget to remember. Don’t forget to search for them. Don’t forget to praise Him.

