“Only I can tell you the future before it even happens. Everything I plan will come to pass, for I do whatever I wish.” Isaiah 46:10

A word from the Lord during a late-night comedy show?

Yes, indeed.

I was watching a comedy routine where a blind celebrity was joking about driving down the freeway. And the Spirit posed a question to me: Why is it not generally considered a good idea for blind people to drive cars?

And I answered back, “Well, duh.” (Yes, yes I did say that.) “Because they can’t see where they’re going.”

“So why do you think you can steer your life, when I’m the only one who can see where you’re headed?”

Touché.

I certainly can’t see where my life is headed next, and neither can you. When we try to manage our own lives, we’re literally blind folks taking the wheel. Talk about scary! There is little doubt as to where we’ll end up if we live that way!”

So, MY question to YOU today is this: Who is sitting in the driver’s seat of your life? Are you blindly going forward, hoping you won’t damage anything too expensive for your insurance to cover? Or are you letting the Lord be in control, leading you where He knows you need to be?

Oh, how silly of us to think we know what’s best! How wise of God to help us to know better!

Move over, Slick. The driver’s side is no place for a blind person.

